4 comments on “Earnestly I Seek Thee

  1. Josh, I commend you for your courage to speak about the unspeakable things that happened to you. I think most would be shocked to discover how many men have been sexually abused. It’s something few of them will tell anyone about…anyone at all. So sad.

    As a survivor of rape, molest, abuse, and a host of other things, I want you to know that God does indeed work all things together for our good. Hopefully you’ve begun to see some of that even now. While I wouldn’t want to have to go through any of it again, in a weird kind of way I’m thankful. The ministry opportunities I have as a result of experiences is vast.

    It is in reaching out to others and showing them the way out of their pain that God gives beauty for ashes and the oil of joy for our mourning.

    I’m thankful for verses like the one in Colossians where we’re told that Jesus presents us as “holy, blameless, and above reproach;” or Romans 8: “There is now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus.” I stand in awe of the transforming power of the Lord – and His sacrifice which paid for every stupid and evil thing I’ve done.

    Pastor John Piper is a fabulous teacher. I enjoy his materials immensely. If you haven’t heard of him, you might also check out Levi Lusko at Fresh Life Church in Montana. He’s a 30-ish year old pastor, and his church is tearing it up all across their state – and the world. I listen to his podcasts.

    *******

    One question. Yes, we’re told in the Old Testament that our heart is deceitful and desperately wicked. However, we’re also told that God gives us a new heart (Ezekiel). James says that every good AND PERFECT gift is from above. I don’t have this all figured out yet myself, but I do wonder: Does God give junk? Maybe it’s just that our heads need to catch up with our new heart – which is why we’re supposed to be transformed by the renewing of our minds. Like I said, I wonder.

    Besides, you won’t find anywhere in the New Testament where a believer is referred to as a “sinner.” On the other hand, over 160 times we’re called “saints.” Well meaning pastors teach that we’re “just sinners saved by grace.” I don’t think I agree with that anymore…not when I read that I am in Christ and a NEW creation.

    It’s worth thinking about for it makes a big difference. If I believe that I’m a sinner, then when I sin I think, “Duh. That’s what sinners do.” If on the other hand I accept that I am a saint, then when I sin I have to ask, “What’s that doing there? That doesn’t belong. It has to go.” We get a very different perspective, depending upon what we believe is true about ourselves.

    Anyway, I didn’t mean to get on my soapbox…was mostly thinking with my fingers, but it’s easy to get down on ourselves (not that I don’t sin – I do, and it grieves me). However, God said that there isn’t any condemnation for us anymore. If He isn’t condemning me, then I certainly don’t want to do that either! I have an enemy who is more than happy to do that for me.

    When he reminds me of past sin, though, I thank him for reminding me of just how much I need Jesus!

    God bless. I look forward to hearing what God does through you. I may not get an update until heaven, but we’ll talk then…you’ll see! I expect you’ll have many fantastic stories to share!

    Until then,

    Your loving sister in Christ,
    Tami
    \o/
    Praising Jesus who never quits anything He begins…especially His masterpieces – US!

  2. I like your point of view. We were made NEW. Everything in the past is gone. It’s been forgiven no matter what we did. If we go on expecting that we will sin, we might fall into sin more often. We need to believe that we are forgiven but not that we are infallible. Thanks so much

Leave a Reply

